ⓘ ADS

With the rise of social media, we often find ourselves registered on dozens of different platforms, keeping us glued to our phones 24/7. If you’re one of those users, you may want to take a break from some of the apps or social networks. In this case, I’ll show you how to delete an X account (formerly Twitter)

delete x account

How do I permanently close my X.com account?

The steps to permanently close X are as follows:

First and foremost, log in to your X.com account. Proceed by navigating through the following options: “More” ➜ “Settings and Support” ➜ “Settings and Privacy

Within the “Settings and Privacy” section, you will find a myriad of options related to account configuration. Click on “Deactivate your account

Deactivation Information: In the next step, you will encounter a lengthy text where X’s service explains all the details and effects that will occur when you delete your X account or deactivate it temporarily. Nevertheless, click on the “Deactivate” button.

Confirm Deletion: You will be prompted to enter your password to confirm that you want to delete X, and the service will verify your identity.

To Finish: it’s now time to definitively confirm if you will delete your X account; for that, simply click on “Yes, delete

X Confirmation: Once you have deleted your account, X will send you a message via email to notify you of the deletion.

To learn more about everything related to deleting an account on X.com, I will answer frequently asked questions from users.

If I delete my account, can I reactivate it later whenever I want?

Once you have deleted your account, you won’t be able to reactivate it unless you chose the option to “Deactivate X” instead of permanently deleting it.

If I don’t want to permanently delete my X account, is there another less decisive option?

As mentioned in the previous answer, if you don’t want to permanently delete X.com and just want to stop using it temporarily, you can simply deactivate it and reactivate it later at your convenience.

Will the messages I sent previously on X disappear, or will they remain visible?

All your interactions will still be visible even if you delete your X account.